750 Camino Lejo Santa Fe, NM 87505 505-982-2226

Masters Award for Lifetime Achievement

April 19, 2017
No Comments

The Masters award is given to an artist who has participated 20+ years in Market who has been a teacher, artist and promoter of the Spanish New Mexican artistic traditions and culture; has raised awareness of the art form on a regional and/or national level; is included in private and museum collections; and has received awards at Spanish Market and at other fairs/exhibitions. The recipient of the Masters Award for Lifetime Achievement is given by former Master award winners each year.
2017 Masters Award for Lifetime Achievement Recipient
Mel Rivera (Straw Appliqué, Innovations WIthin the Tradition for Straw Appliqué)


The Recipient for the 2017 Masters Award for Lifetime Achievement has been awarded to Mel Rivera, a 29-year participant of
Traditional Spanish Market.

Mel Rivera is a fourth-generation Santa Fean, and is a graduate of New Mexico State University with a degree in Business Administration. He first received recognition for his artwork in 1981 when he was doing woodcarving. After returning to Santa Fe area, however he became very interested in Straw applique, an art form dating back to the 1700s in New Mexico.

Modern straw applique derives from the ancient craft practiced in North Africa and introduced into Spain by the Moors. The art form adopted by Spanish artisans, who brought it to the Americas. In the upper Rio Grande, straw applique was used as a practical substitute for the more elaborated wood and mother-of -pearl inlay. Straw décor was originally used on boxes, wooden candleholders, picture frames and devotional wooden crosses.

Mel made his first straw applique cross in 1985, using only wheat straw. He continues to create new designs on traditional objects using only the core of the straw plant, a unique feature of his work. Over the past thirty-five years, Rivera has won countless awards in shows throughout the southwest, participated and received an award in Italy, and his work can be found in the permanent collections of many museums. He also had the honor of being selected to have his work purchased and displayed in the shrine of Our Lady of Lourdes in France.

Tiny’s Dine and Dance
1005 S. St. Francis Drive
(505) 983 – 9817
Located at the Southeast corner of
Cerrillos Road & St. Francis Drive intersection

Join us Tuesday, June 20, 2017 at Tiny’s Dine and Dance for the formal announcement of this years recipient of the Master Award for Lifetime Achievement – Mel Rivera. J.R. Palermo, owner, has offered to continue the tradition of donating 20% of the proceeds of food and drink purchases the evening of June 20th to the Spanish Market.

The restaurant will have open seating for the evening with a full food and beverage menu. Tiny’s is a family owned and operated restaurant/lounge in Santa Fe for 65 years. Come and enjoy one of the Southwest’s great made from scratch kitchen, offering Native New Mexican Foods and full bar. A Santa Fe institution, Tiny’s indoor/outdoor dining area is a perfect spot to spend an evening and help us support Spanish Market.

We would like to encourage you to bring friends to mingle with Market artists and Society members and staff for a fun filled evening and suggest making reservations for your group for the evening by calling (505) 983 – 9817.

1987 – Horacio Valdez
1988 – Emilio and Senaida Romero
1989 – Paula and Eliseo Rodriguez
1990 – Leo Salazar
1991 – Angelina Delgado Martinez
1992 – Marie Romero Cash
1993 – Tomas Sena
1994 – Monica Sosaya Halford
1995 – Ben Ortega, Sr.
1996 – Frank Brito
1997 – Ricardo Lopez
1998 – Zoraida and Eulogio Ortega
1999 – Bonifacio Sandoval
2000 – Sabinita Lopez Ortiz
2001 – Cordelia Coronado (1988) and Eppie Archuleta (1990)
2002 – Carlos Santistevan
2003 – David C. de Baca
2004 – John Jimenez
2005 – Irvin Trujillo
2006 – Charles Carrillo
2007 – Felix Lopez
2008 – Ramon Jose Lopez
2009 – Gloria Lopez Cordova
2010 – Belarmino Esquibel
2011 – Ralph Sena
2012 – Arlene Cisneros Sena
2013 – Jimmy E. Trujillo
2014 – Debbie Carrillo
2015 – Lawrence Baca
2016 – Gustavo Victor Goler
2017 – Mel Rivera

Robin Gavin